Sturm und Mom

The Storm & Stress (& Joy) of Motherhood

Part III: Does Fate Make House Calls?

Housekeeping is back to normal around here!

When you last left this blog, I was just rushing my entire family out the door into a massive snowstorm so that another family and their Realtor, who were 30 minutes early I might add, could view our house that we were trying to sell.  (Part I and II of the Incredibly Funny Story of How We Sold Our House is detailed here.)   And when I say I was rushing the troops out I do mean solo.  My dear husband was trying to clear the layer of snow in the back alley, and as he walked back to the front yard, he was greeted with a convoy  of idling cars and all his kids sliding down the front steps with snow boots and open jackets.  Quelle surprise!

I flipped on the fireplace and dashed out.  As I shut the door I decided that I should leave it unlocked.  We had a keybox for the Realtors to use, and I knew they had been getting in since there was a card from the showing this morning, but it seemed to rude to just lock a door in someone’s face, so to speak.  I let the very affable fellow waiting on our side walk know, and climbed into our SUV as the other family climbed out of theirs.  Then we went for a 30 minute drive which considering the weather, was one of the most nerve-racking journeys I have ever been on, and will remain the subject of another blog.

As we swung back in front of our house, we saw the Realtor’s car pulling away.  Then a cell phone call!  Hopes rise!  It’s our Realtor!  Hopes soar!  She has a very important message from the other Realtor!  Hopes atmospheric!  She said that he couldn’t get the key to work, and he was concerned that our house was unlocked.  Hopes back to normal.

We went out to dinner at friends that night and everyone commiserated that our house would sell, just be patient.  They gave us pep talks and remembered how hard it was.  We drove home, and as I paid for diapers at the Shopper’s Drug Mart, my husband read the email on his iPhone with the Offer to Purchase attached.  After some back and forth on price we reached a deal.  By the time my Sweetheart picked up Sweetie Pie from her Guides’ sleepover, we had a sold our house.

The buyers’ Realtor was still really concerned about those keys, so much so that the wanted us to let him in for the home inspection, instead of relying on the keybox.  I thought this was overkill since it worked for other showings.  It must of been the bad weather causing problems with the lock.  But for hundreds of thousands of dollars, I’m willing to humour someone.

Friday morning he arrived, opened the keybox and pulled out the keys that I saw our Realtor put in — same tag, same key.  And then I watched as he put them into the lock, and nothing happened.  The lock would not turn.  I tried and the entire mechanism totally jammed.  I compared them to the key that I have used nearly everyday for 6 years and they were exactly the same.  I tried another set of keys that I had cut at the same time and they worked perfectly.    And it dawned on me then:

That if they hadn’t all shown up 30 minutes early in a snowstorm, and I hadn’t left the door unlocked, they probably wouldn’t have bought this house.

So, here’s the $64,000 question:  Fate or coincidence?  Were they destined to buy this house, or just the first of a string of potential buyers?  Were we having good luck, or was some sort of intervention at work?

I’m afraid I’ll never know.  But I am glad that I don’t have to shout at the kids for disturbing my throw cushion vignette.  And I hope I never again am forced to ask someone for help retrieving my pants.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Part III: Does Fate Make House Calls?

  1. You are the second person I have talked to this week who has sold their house in a relatively short time. In July, we will be selling our family home in Lake Tahoe (we have downsized since our youngest left for college in August and now live in a tiny rental cottage overlooking the San Francisco Bay). In the Bay Area it is a seller’s market – multiple offers, but in the Tahoe area it takes months for houses to sell. I hope things ripple from your neck of the woods to ours.

    Great story – looking forward to hearing about the car ride.

  2. Great blog…as you know, I don’t so much believe in coincidences. But a happy event, and a great story.

  3. Fate? Coincidence? Destiny? May you have many happy new years in your new home to figure out which one it was! 🙂 Congratulations again on selling your house!

  4. Congrats on a quick sale: i know what it means to the mother of a large family! Do you have a house to go to or do you start looking now?

  5. Congrats on the sale. I am with Cirque…do you already know where you are going?
    Red.

  6. Thanks everyone for the kind words and stopping by!

    The Worrywart — I wish I could buy your house in Lake Tahoe! Except I think it would too long a commute….I was surprised how many “I did _____ and then my house sold” stories I heard when I started talking to people. It seems you just keep trying stuff until something works. 😉 Hope your house sells fast and you can get on with not-house-selling stuff.

    Veronique and Red — No we didn’t have a house then, which led to me sending 3 am missives to our realtor after spending several panicked hours on the MLS site. Luckily she’s a nice lady (to my face at least — kidding, kidding!)

Leave a Reply

