Sturm und Mom

The Storm & Stress (& Joy) of Motherhood

The Blog is Back

A bunkbed, a bedroom and sound proofing all in one. It's a home run!

And….we’re back.  Sorry, folks I was offline for so long there, but I’m glad to be back.  Though I hadn’t realized that I was gone to long.  Time flies when you are dealing with Real Estate.

Which is where I was:  in the unreal land of Real Estate,  dealing with Realtors (I didn’t know that was supposed to be capitalized.  You don’t capitalize doctor, or mother, but you do Realtor.  Well, I capitalize Mother, but that’s another story.)  So, this blog post with be a sort of update on where I’ve been and what I’ve been doing.  Unfortunately, it is profoundly un-profound.  After the last 10 weeks of cleaning and showing and viewing and fretting, I really don’t have anything grand about the universe to tell you.

But I sure have some funny stories, so let’s go with that.

The Story of How We Sold Our House

We were selling our house because a) we needed to either renovate or move and it was cheaper to move, and b) we lived on a busy street without a driveway and we needed a driveway.  The listing was about a week and a half old, and we were settling in for the long haul.   You know — showing after showing with comments like “It’s on a busy street,”  and “The backsplash is too dark.”  It was a grey thursday, and as I pattered downstairs and peeked out the window, I smiled:  Snow.  A couple of lovely white inches were covering all the brown grass and dead perennials.  And then I stopped smiling:  Tracks.  Little bunny tracks all around the yard leading right under our back deck.  No!  When we said “Move in ready” and “Perfect for the growing family” we did not mean rabbits!   After a quick critter check, the weather warmed up enough for my husband to cut and screw some 2 x 6 all around the base of the deck, keeping Mr. Hop-on-Outta-Here away.

However, the warm weather was a portent for something else.  A major snow storm was brewing, as in Environment Canada Weather Warning – Heavy Snowfall snow storm.  Having lived in a few parts of Canada, I’m no stranger to snow.   But this snow, which began it’s accumulation on Friday night, was one of those Northern Alberta doozies that would shut down any other civilized Canadian city.   At least 2 feet must have fallen in about 36 hours.  And it was blowing and drifting and generally travel preventing.  It was call in the Armed Forces weather.   (Sorry for the Toronto dig.  Bad habit.)  When you were stopped at an intersection, you couldn’t see on the other side of the traffic lights.  In order to keep our walk clear, we had to shovel every two hours.  We really didn’t need to worry about the bunny, because it was impossible to tell where the deck actually ended, there was so much snow.  Our backyard just looked like someone threw a white sheet over an unmade bed.

Luckily, we here in God’s Country are a hardy bunch.  We had two house showings booked, and everyone showed up.  Early.

Next time…Part 2: “Hand Me My Pants!”

Sorry, Mom. Your story isn't working for me.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “The Blog is Back

  1. Hi Liz – Great to see you back! Isn’t it amazing the way that life can get in the way of a blog? Then again, without it, what would we write about? 😉

    Congratulations on selling your house. Can’t wait to hear the rest of the story!

  2. That note about people’s comments on the backslash (or whatever…) reopened some old battle scars… We sold houses with 4, 5 and 6 kids. You list your house, you put a nice description including “old and ugly back splash” (or whatever) so people will be prepared. You put pictures of your old and ugly kitchen so people will see that it is not an updated gourmet feature from House&Home. Then you vacate the house for a showing at 6:30 pm on a Wednesday evening, take your 6 kids to a restaurant at bedtime and when the agent’s feedback returns it goes “They liked it but they found the backs plash old and ugly and the kitchen is dated” Aaaaargh!

    But old and ugly is in the eye of the beholder. We sold a house with an indoor pool. That’s pretty hard to miss: it’s on several of the listing pictures and mentioned prominently in the listing. People would ask for a showing and then say: “It’s nice but we don’t want an indoor pool!”

    People drive me nuts!

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one going crazy with that! One lady almost made me cry after the realtor went on about how the “location was too busy for her young children.” I know it wasn’t rational, but I felt like she just said “oh, it’s fine if your kids run out into traffic, but not my precious little ones.” As well, since we had so many specific needs for the house we were looking for, we just couldn’t rule out living on a busy street, because that be the only house with the right bedrooms/layout/kitchen size/price point that we needed. The idea of rejecting a house because of the tile, or lino or “light” seemed so decadent to us!

      In fairness, I think some realtors drag their clients to these houses, even though they aren’t what they want to buy. But it is so frustrating, I don’t think I ever want to move again. Hopefully, we don’t have to! 🙂

  3. Glad you’re back! Love to see pictures of your baby! Makes me want to do that well-intentioned but scary aggressive thing where I talk about wanting to smooch that sweet little face, but I won’t. Anyway, you are safe from me, up there in Canada, which we have been studying all week because my 14 yr old is having a test on your great nation today. Sooo, on that random note, I am looking forward to hearing more!

    • Hey, anytime you want to go crazy over my kid’s cuteness is fine by me! 🙂 Hope the test went well! Were any questions on snow, by chance? Thanks a lot for your kind words!

  4. Pingback: The Incredibly Funny Story of How We Sold Our House, Part II « Sturm und Mom

  5. Pingback: Part III: Does Fate Make House Calls? « Sturm und Mom

Leave a Reply

