Sturm und Mom

The Storm & Stress (& Joy) of Motherhood

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Advent


Around here, it’s starting to look a lot like Advent. I was inspired by Like Mother, Like Daughter‘s post on decorating for Advent, and Elizabeth Esther’s post on her Christmas decorating, and I thought that I would share what we were doing around here. Advent, by the way, is the four weeks leading up to Christmas, a time to get ready and anticipate the birth of Jesus. The tradition of Advent is a great antidote to the over-hype and over-spend of Christmas today.  Why?  It means that you don’t actually start celebrating Christmas until December 25.  Instead of being sick of the holidays on December 26, and Boxing Day is notable as the  day you burn your Christmas tree, the 25th means that the party has just begun.  So, if you are tired of seeing holiday decorations beside the Halloween candy at your local Wal-mart, give Advent a try.

In addition to our Advent Wreath, we have a couple of Nativities missing Jesus:

(guess which ones the kids made!)  …and I made a new Advent door wreath…

Is anyone else celebrating Advent?  How does it look in your house?

Looking for more Advent info? Try these links:

Catholic Culture
Like Mother, Like Daughter (look at the sidebar for more articles)
The Advent Conspiracy

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Advent

  1. Beautiful! I celebrate Advent as well, even though I am Protestant. We’ve got our Christmas tree, stockings, and mantle decorations up, but we also have a manger scene.

    I like to read books about Advent during this time in preparation. Last year, I got “The Meaning is in the Waiting: The Spirit of the Advent” and loved it! I like the idea of celebrating Advent as a spiritual journey.

    • Thanks! I love “Advent and Christmas with Fulton J. Sheen.” I think I have worn my copy out. However, with the little ones, I find it hard to stick to a daily reading schedule, so I focus more on the traditions — try to pass them along to the next generation. I still try to see it as a spiritual journey, but in a less cerebral way right now.

  2. Brother James on said:

    Really a delightful post. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

