Sturm und Mom

The Storm & Stress (& Joy) of Motherhood

Cute stuff kids do, that adults can’t get away with

I was having a rotten day and the kids knew it. My six year old decided to cheer me up.

“Mommy, I made you a picture book.” She handed me a series of drawings stapled together. The title?

I am Special. Yep, this super cute booklet which made me feel a whole lot better (really!) was all about how special SHE was. I started thinking: What if an adult did that?

“I’m so sorry your mother died. Here. I thought a photo book of myself might cheer you up. Look – on the last page I made a collage of all my trophies and achievements!”

So on that note, I started brainstorming things that kids do that are so damn cute, but wouldn’t wash as an adult.

– Repeatedly misrepresent your age.

– Draw a picture of a Princess that looks like it’s actually a goose.

– Invite strangers to your birthday party.

– Refer to yourself as “a big boy.”

– Tell your mother that don’t want to marry her anymore.

– Watch the same 10 episodes of your favourite TV show over and over and over, again.

– Apply lip gloss to your eye lids and brows.

– Pair flip flops with a dress shirt and cords.

– Take food into the bathroom.

– Believe that “chicken” the food and “chicken” the animal, are two totally different things.

– Insist that inanimate objects be served the same breakfast as you.

– Wear a hat 3 sizes too small.

– Plan on having your wedding catered by McDonald’s.

– Ask everyone at the table if you can try their food and drink.

– Ask someone “if they were alive back then.”

– “Do you want to see a picture of me as a baby?”

– Want to take medicine because you enjoy the taste.

– Repeat the joke you just heard from the person beside you, because it got a laugh.

– Put on a puppet show with Popsicle sticks.

Now that I list it out, childhood seems like the Diplomatic Immunity of weird behavior. Enjoy it while it lasts, kids. Your underwear on head days are numbered.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.

